An ending (ascent)

Finality is unavoidable. And this chapter of my life is about to come to a close. I’ve struggled a lot the past few weeks searching for that last ounce of motivation. I almost convinced myself to stay put in Punta Arenas and count down the days until my flight. But, something kept gnawing at me to push through a few more cold days. To reach Ushuaia.

Struggling with this lack of motivation, I found myself drawn to the idea of pulling long fast days of riding on the main road. However, something within me knew that I had to do right by the bikepacking gods. I therefore decided to make the most of my time in Southern Patagonia. After all, there are no guarantees I’ll be back.

The soon to be classic bikepack along the Beagle Channel was a highlight of this past week, even the trip itself. In large part because of what it symbolizes. A beautiful exit. A route which summarized the trip’s whole purpose. To escape roads and traffic, and lose oneself in a perfect piece of nature. This is bikepacking zen. As the specks of light grew and the outlines of buildings became more defined, I felt this overwhelming sense of tranquility take ahold of me. It was almost as if a tension had been released, one which I hadn’t known even existed. An ending which provided a context for the past year and a half of my life.

This is possibly/probably the last post I’ll be doing (I might to some gear reviews etc). I apologize for the lackluster photos but I spent all my energy trying to enjoy my last pieces of good riding and less time photographing them. There is so much we couldn’t have accomplished without the help of others. Completing a trip like this does not build on my ego, but only reinforces how lucky I’ve been to be able to achieve this goal. So, I humbly thank family, friends, and followers for your enthusiasm and support. You’re all here with me, at the end of the world.

DSCF7413
Trees down south tend to take on this certain lean
DSCF7450
Rio Verde, possibly one of the strangest communities I’ve ever camped in.
DSCF7470
puzzlin’ gates
DSCF7485
Along Seno Otway. A highly recommendable alternative to the main road.
DSCF7495
Got me some!
DSCF7505
Cold cleasr nights, make for beautiful mornings
DSCF7518
Frost crystals
DSCF7533
bus shelter/cyclists refuge.

DSCF7536DSCF7538

DSCF7540
The classic stop in Panaderia La Union, Tolhuin.
DSCF7546
Setting off for a bikepack along the beagle channel.
DSCF7552
The first 10 kilometers bring you past a variety of beautiful cabins.
DSCF7565
The channel comes into view.
DSCF7573
Almanza, trailerpark fishing town?
DSCF7574
The route passes through restricted naval land. No traffic out here.
DSCF7584
I find myself riding until it starts getting dark. Taking advantage of my fortunate weather.
DSCF7586
In the morning i follow farm track along the coast. The foggy weather begins to clear and i’m teased with glimpses of Ushuaia.
DSCF7597
As you can see, the restricted land is not particularily well secured.
DSCF7601
After a few kilometers of bashing through Calafate bushes, I emerge on some rideable singletrack and out to the main road.
DSC_2543
If pushed to answer if I would do it again on a fatbike, I think the answer is pretty obvious!
One thought on “An ending (ascent)

Leave a comment

